Series RNCM/4/7 - Support, scholarship and prize papers

Identity area

Reference code



Support, scholarship and prize papers


  • 1967-2019 (Creation)

Level of description


Extent and medium

7 boxes, 1 digital file

Context area

Name of creator

Archival history

Immediate source of acquisition or transfer

Content and structure area

Scope and content

The papers contain mainly correspondence about nominations and recipients of the awards etc., as well as how the awards etc. were funded, created and/or administered. Annual lists of awards etc. available to RNCM students were created for the years 1985-1993. The awards etc. for which there are records include are the following: UMIST Scholarship (2001-2005), Free Access (2004-2005), Graucob Music Awards (1996-1998), Shell/LSO Music Scholarship (1994-1998), Musica Britannica/Sir Anthony Lewis Memorial Prize (1992-1994), English Speaking Union Scholarship (1991-1995), Ian Flemming Award (1998), Hattori Foundation (1998), Barbirolli Trust (1997-2002), Malcolm Arnold/Arthur Bliss prizes (1997-1998), Elizabeth Harwood Memorial Award (1992-1999), Elsie and Leonard Cross Trust (1992-2002), Anne Ziegler and Webster Booth Competition (1991-2001), Broadwood Trust (1991-1997) which includes some papers of the 1993 ”Glories of the Keyboard” festival, Leopold Muller Estate (1992-1997), Pierre Fournier Award (1998), Malcolm Arnold Prize (1997), Pilling Trust Organ Scholarship (1982-2004) formerly Boddington’s Organ Scholarship and St Ann’s Church Organ Scholarship, Audrey Pass Scholarship (1992-1995), Robert Kiln Bursary (1991), Sybil Tutton Awards (1991-1994), Joaninha Trust Award (1997-2003), Marjorie Clementi Award (1997-1998), Henry Richardson Award (1997-1998), Granada Prize (1992-1997), John Ogdon Award (1995-1997), Peter Moores Foundation Scholarship (1979-2000), Foundation for Sport and the Arts (1991-1999), Ann Dennis Estate (1995), KPMG/Martin Musical Scholarship Fund (1992-1997), LASMO Staffa Music Award (1995-1999), John Ireland Trust/John Ireland Triennial Prize (1977-2009), Rotary Club of Manchester Award (1993-1997), Malcolm Sargent Award (1991-1994), British Music Society (1991-1992), Manchester Welsh Prize (1985-1994), Elsie Thurston Prize (1991-200) includes correspondence re silver salver donation by Roger Stevens, Dearden Award (1976-2001), Leche Trust (1987-1998), Eric Nicholson bequest (1967-2006), W Holmes/Saville Prize for Lieder Singing (1978-1989), Laurence Turner Memorial Prize (1978-1986), Robert Stanley Ford Memorial Fund (1976), Marsh Memorial Scholarship (1974-1975), Elsie Sykes Fellowship (1977-1991), Tim Brandy Trust Awards (1975-1982), Dora Ashton Scholarship (1976-1987), Thomas Barratt Memorial Prize (1976-1985), Gordon Green Endowment Fund (1981-2003), Gilbert Webster Memorial Prize (1980-2004), Bass Concerto Award (1979-1987), Alfred Deller Memorial Trust (1979-1980), Cecil Aronowitz (1977-1979), James Martin Onken Song Prize (1977-1998), Greater Manchester Educational Trust (1982-1984), Manchester Cathedral Organ Scholarship (1982-1989), Mary Whittaker Scholarship for Strings/Endowment Fund (1983-1984), Elizabeth Scheller Scholarship Award (1983), Dayas Trust/William Humphreys Dayas Exhibition (1983-1988), Terence Weil Prize (1983-1988), Danemann Scholarship (1982), Marjorie Squires Scholarship (1984-1985), Harold Olsberg Fund (1984), Eleanor Warren Prize (1984-2004), Allen Bequest (1984-1985), Tom Bridge Memorial Prize (1981-1988), Jack Hutchinson Award (1981-1982), Edward Heaton Memorial Prize (1981), Walter A. Hampson Fund (1978-1979), William Warburton Scholarship (1979), JLM/Price/Frances Price donation for instruments (1996), James Kershaw Memorial Fund (1976), Stella Bradshaw Memorial Award (1976), Peter Frankl Scholarship (1980), Ethelwyn Fernley Instrument Loan Scholarship (1979-1988), Leon Birkett Award (1979-1987), John Wray Prize (1980-2004), Claire Croiza Prize for French Song (1980-1994), Bessie Cronshaw Song-Cycles Prize (1980-2002), SKS Bach Prize (2003), Cherubim Music Trust (2002), Prize for Contemporary Music Performance (1988), S.C. Sellers Award (1988), Academic Studies Prize (1987), Gwilym Gwalchmai Jones Award (1984-2002), Theodore Holland Prize (1988), Leonard Hirsch Quartet Prize (1986), Ricordi Prize (1987), Curtis Gold Medal (1986), Pinson Book Prize (1985), Robin Kay Memorial Prize for Opera Singing (1984), Dorothy Lily Pope Scholarship (1984).

Appraisal, destruction and scheduling


System of arrangement

Conditions of access and use area

Conditions governing access


Conditions governing reproduction

Language of material

Script of material

Language and script notes

Physical characteristics and technical requirements

Finding aids

Allied materials area

Existence and location of originals

Existence and location of copies

Related units of description

Related descriptions

Notes area

Alternative identifier(s)

Access points

Subject access points

Place access points

Name access points

Genre access points

Description control area

Description identifier

Institution identifier

Rules and/or conventions used


Level of detail

Dates of creation revision deletion




Accession area

Related subjects

Related people and organizations

Related genres

Related places