Item AB/749 - Newscutting of a review of a concert given by the Brodsky Quartet in the Frankfurt Museum

Identity area

Reference code

GB GB1179 AB-AB/749


Newscutting of a review of a concert given by the Brodsky Quartet in the Frankfurt Museum


  • 1906 (Creation)

Level of description


Extent and medium

1 item

Context area

Name of creator


Biographical history

Archival history

Immediate source of acquisition or transfer

Content and structure area

Scope and content

To this concert, the seventh chamber music evening of the Frankfurt Museum Society was invited the Brodsky Quartet from Manchester. The nationality and a brief biographical outline is given of each member. The Quartet played the Quartet in D major op.11 by Tchaikovsky, the second Quartet in F major op.41 by Robert Schumann and Beethoven's B major Quartet op.135. The performance is reviewed at length and special mention is made of Brodsky's playing in the Andante Cantabile in the Tchaikovsky. The Brodsky Quartet is compared favourably with quartets of the past, eg the Joachim and of the present, eg the Bohemian and the St. Petersburg. Dated 22 Dec 1906.

Appraisal, destruction and scheduling


System of arrangement

Conditions of access and use area

Conditions governing access


Conditions governing reproduction

Language of material

Script of material

Language and script notes

Physical characteristics and technical requirements

Finding aids

Allied materials area

Existence and location of originals

Existence and location of copies

Related units of description

Related descriptions

Notes area

Alternative identifier(s)

Access points

Subject access points

Place access points

Genre access points

Description control area

Description identifier

Institution identifier

Rules and/or conventions used


Level of detail

Dates of creation revision deletion




Accession area